Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon TBR

april2017

I always look forward to the next installment of Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon; it’s such a fun, positive day of reading and bookish interactions. The last few weeks have been really crazy for me, so I’m really looking forward to having a nice, relaxing, reading-filled day on Saturday. I’m also really looking forward to picking up these books! I tend to save certain books for readathons that I think will be good picks; I have a few graphic novels, a few YA novels, an audiobook, a short story collection, and a novella to choose from. I picked out a few yummy snacks and am probably planning to order takeout, since readathons allow you to be lazy, and if it’s nice out I’m hoping to read outside on my roof or maybe walk down to read by the river. I’ll be posting updates here on my blog every so often, and also will be posting a lot on Instagram and Litsy (I’m @beachesnbooks on both of those).

And here’s my TBR! Ranked from most likely to read/finish during the readathon to least likely.

The GrownupSaga, Vol. 7Replica (Replica, #1)Difficult Women

The Grownup by Gillian Flynn – I got this short story in one of my Book of the Month Club boxes and have been saving it for a readathon because it’s so tiny and will be a perfect fast-paced read. I think it involves ghosts, maybe? Or else it’s just a thriller, but either way I’m thinking it will be a good way to kick off the readathon Saturday morning.

Saga, Volume 7 by Brian K. Vaughn and Fiona Staples – this next volume of Saga came out just in time for Dewey’s. I don’t exactly remember where the previous volume left off, but I always enjoy this series.

Replica by Lauren Oliver – I’m thinking this may be my main YA read during the Readathon, but I’ve never read a Lauren Oliver book before so I don’t really know if I’m going to like it (thus having lots of backup options). It’s a science fiction novel told in dual perspectives that you can read any way you want–alternating chapters between the two characters, or reading first one perspective and then the other; I think this nontraditional format will help my reading flow during the readathon.

Difficult Women by Roxane Gay – I haven’t yet read a short story collection in April, so I’m going to have to finish this one before the end of the month. I got a bit behind on my reading during the Tome Topple Readathon, so I’m hoping to read some of this collection before the readathon and try to finish it during Dewey’s.

Windwitch (The Witchlands, #2)Perfect Little WorldSomething New: Tales from a Makeshift BrideDisplacement: A Travelogue

Windwitch by Susan Dennard – I couldn’t resist picking up a copy of Windwitch immediately after finishing Truthwitch earlier this month, but I’ve been saving it in case I’m in the mood for this YA fantasy during the Readathon. I’ve heard that the majority of people didn’t like this as much as Truthwitch, but I’ve got a good feeling as it seems like we’ll be getting more of Iseult and Aeduon in this one.

Perfect Little World by Kevin Wilson – I’m listening to this “utopian” novel on audiobook; it’s always a good idea to have an audiobook option during the readathon so that you can keep your reading up if you have to go drive somewhere. If it’s nice out, I may also take a walk while listening to this.

Something New by Lucy Knisley – I read Relish, Lucy Knisley’s food-related memoir, for a previous readathon, and thought it was really cute and well-illustrated. This graphic memoir focuses on Knisley’s engagement and planning her wedding; since I was in four weddings over the past year, I think it should be pretty entertaining.

Diplacement: A Travelogue by Lucy Knisley – I picked this up at the library when I was grabbing Saga and Something New; it’s another graphic memoir by Lucy Knisley that focuses on her relationship with her grandparents when she goes on a cruise with them.

 

 

Is anyone else participating in Dewey’s??? What’s on your TBR? Let me know!

 

2 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon TBR”

  1. This will be my third time participating and I have to say that this time picking a TBR list was much harder than previous times. I think it’s because I’m in a reading slump and the fact that I have too many choices. I’m actually about to go work on my blog post for my Dewey’s prep. Happy reading!

    Like

  2. I’ve been meaning to finish The Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King. Since it’s a collection of short stories, it should keep me busy but be manageable enough for me. I’m probably going to start another book like Gone Girl or maybe a script like Fantastic Beasts would be interesting. You have very interesting books on your list. I’m going to have to check these out and I’ll probably end up adding them to my ever-growing TBR list 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

