Dewey’s Readathon Wrap-Up!

img_2318

That’s a wrap on Dewey’s! I had such a great time reading and engaging in bookish awesomeness yesterday. The readathon came at a really perfect time, and it was so relaxing to abandon adulting for the day and read as much as possible instead. I joined a bit late, which I was prepared for, and ended up reading until about 4 a.m., which I was not anticipating doing. I started off with a graphic novel to kick things off, then got completely immersed in a YA scifi thriller (Illuminae) for the majority of the first half of the readathon. I thought I might get burnt out on reading by the end of the ‘thon, so I took a break to work out, shower, and eat dinner (delicious takeout Thai curry), which actually helped me get a second wind. I then jumped into a longer graphic memoir for awhile and picked up another graphic novel after that. Around 2 a.m. I was considering going to bed, but pushed myself to read one more short book, which turned into doing a little audiobooking as well, which then turned into me picking up my current read, so I ended up finishing strong. Overall, I actually did way better than I thought I would–I don’t set a timer or anything, but I think this readathon was a personal best in terms of both how much time I spent reading and how much I actually read.

In other surprises, I won one of the hourly prizes! Thank you, Dewey’s! I have to say a huge thank-you to the organizers of this event and everyone who made this readathon so wonderful. The bookish community is really fantastic, and I love getting to see everyone’s updates and tips throughout the challenge. The community feel of this readathon is what makes it so great, and I can’t wait to participate again next April 🙂

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you?

I wouldn’t say any of the hours were daunting, they were all pretty darn fun 🙂

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?

Yes! I think that Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff was a great readathon book because it was so fast-paced and told in an unconventional format. I’d also recommend Fun Home by Alison Bechdel, Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire, Texts from Jane Eyre by Mallory Ortberg, Forest of Memory by May Robinette Kowal, Carry On by Rainbow Rowell, Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur, Confessions by Kanae Minato, Binti by Nnedi Okorafor, and any of Ilona Andrews’s books.

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next season?

No, I thought it was fantastic.

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?

Pretty much everything! I liked that Litsy was involved this time; it was fun to get updates on everyone’s reading on there

5. How many books did you read?

I read 5 books for a total of 1167 pages–3 graphic novels, 1 novella, and 1 YA novel. I also listened to about half an hour of my audiobook (The Geek Feminist Revolution by Kameron Hurley) and read about 16 pages of my current book, The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers.

6. What were the names of the books you read?

img_2306

Alex + Ada, Volume 1 by Jonathan Luna and Sarah Vaughn

img_2311

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

img_2313

Fun Home by Alison Bechdel

img_2314

Pretty Deadly, Volume 1 by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Emma Rios

img_2315

Forest of Memory by Mary Robinette Kowal

7. Which book did you enjoy most?

Illuminae was definitely the highlight of the readathon for me; it was such an action-packed, fast-paced book which worked perfectly to keep me engaged during the readathon. It’s a science fiction novel about the aftermath of an attack on a small planet and how the survivors are attempting to escape and not succumb to about a million different threats and conspiracies on the way.

8. Which did you enjoy least?

Unfortunately, Pretty Deadly really did not work for me. I didn’t like the artwork, and I was not engaged in the story. There were some interesting aspects to it, but not enough to keep me going with this series.

9. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?

I’ll definitely be participating next time! I love this readathon and highly recommend giving it a try to anyone who’s been hesitant.

 

How was everyone’s readathon??? Feel free to link me to your posts, I would love to hear how you all did!

2 thoughts on “Dewey’s Readathon Wrap-Up!”

Leave a Reply

