Reading the Weird in March

Earlier this week, I was in the middle of five different books and realized I wasn’t completely happy with any of them. I was enjoying them, but nothing was consuming my interest and inspiring me to reach for it obsessively. And then I figured out why: for the first time in probably years, not one of the books I was reading had any kind of fantastical or science fiction-related element.

I like to mix up my reading and read a mixture of genres, but science fiction and fantasy (along with their offshoots, magical realism, speculative fiction, etc) have always been my favorites. I love the feeling of reading something that is completely unlike anything else I’ve ever read, encountering new ideas and creative ways to tell a story. And by accidentally finding myself in a place without any of those books, I had strayed away from that. And I hated it!

That’s why the Month-Long #Weirdathon, held by Outlandish Lit (http://outlandishlit.blogspot.com/2016/02/month-long-weirdathon-sign-up.html) is coming at the perfect time for me. I’ve already realized that in order to get back into the reading zone, I need to immediately jump into some scifi/fantasy reads, and making those books as weird as possible sounds like the perfect antidote to too much realistic fiction.

Are  you reading anything weird in March? My TBR post will be up soon!

2 thoughts on “Reading the Weird in March”

  1. I don’t want my comment to just be “yay” a hundred times in a row, but that’s what I’m feeling haha. I was also in a book slump that I attribute to forcing myself to read a bunch of very normal “big” books and like… where the aliens at? You know?

    Can’t wait to see your TBR post!

    Like

    1. Exactly! The aliens, the alternate dimensions, the magic spells…they just make books so much better 🙂 I don’t understand how some people can only read realistic fiction…I want to read about things that will never happen in real life.

      Like

Leave a Reply

