Beaches and Books: an Introduction

IMG_0661

Welcome to Beaches and Books, a nontraditional beach reading blog for nontraditional readers. I don’t do all of my reading on the beach–although I wish that were possible–but when I read I try to capture the transitory perfection that comes with immersing yourself in a transcendent read while the sun warms you and the waves crash. I believe that reading can be simultaneously relaxing and invigorating, and with this blog I want to share my passion for reading and talking about books with other readers.

What do I like to read? First of all, I read books that are unique. I like books that take nontraditional approaches with both style and genre, and that can continuously surprise me. I read a lot of science fiction and fantasy, in all its iterations: speculative fiction, magical realism, slipstream, New Weird. I like elements of the futuristic and the fantastic in what I read, and I especially like books that bend and shatter genre conventions. That being said, I also read realistic fiction, nonfiction, and historical fiction, and I’m always trying to challenge myself with new genres.

I read because I love it, and I want to start writing about books more because I love talking about reading. I love recommending books and getting recommendations from others. I hope that you will enjoy reading this blog as much as I love writing it.

2 thoughts on “Beaches and Books: an Introduction”

  1. Hi JaleenaJo! I just saw your info of this site on Shelfari. Looks like fun — I’ll be watching for your recommendations regarding nontraditional reading material πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

